Weekly Summary: 16 July – 22 July 2012

Monday, 16 July
AM: OFF
PM: 26mins w/up, 1km intervals, 10mins c/down
Chilly day today. Air was cold but the body was working well. The intervals were hard but still manageable. The guys ran hard and ran well, amazing timings! Will be a tough week, trying to restrict myself from running too much and not knowing what to do with the excess energy. Haha.

“Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will make you fishers of men.” – Matthew 4:19

Tuesday, 17 July
AM: OFF
PM: 45mins, Core ~ TP Track
Tough run today especially in the second half. Felt like almost couldn’t breathe and legs were tight all over. Still great to have gotten this quick session in.

Today the Lord challenged me if I was running to gain approval from men or from Him. When I come to think about it, it’s really tough. To just head out there to run alone and be in His presence, or to run at a more crowded place so people can “see” you run. Hmm, it’s a very gray area in my opinion and requires constant checking of the heart. You don’t have to make the popular choice, or a choice that makes you feel good.

Sometimes you just need to be obedient to God, and know that even though what you’re doing now doesn’t make sense, God has the best plan for you in mind.

Wednesday, 18 July
AM: OFF
PM: 20mins (treadmill), 22mins w/up, 400m intervals, 15mins c/down ~ TP Track
Still feeling uncomfortable when breathing hard, especially when on the treadmill in the gym (altitude simulation..?). Some kind of pain in the lower part of the ribs, though it’s not the first time, I know it’ll take awhile to go away. Main intervals were, painful. But I really believed that those treadmill sessions (on incline) has helped strengthen the mind tremendously. Last workout done before raceday on Sunday. Not expecting much out of it. But will be giving my best for Jesus. 🙂

Thursday, 19 July
AM: OFF
PM: 45mins, Core ~ TP Track
Don’t know why but the recovery runs always feel quite tough especially when they’re done in circles on the field. But today’s run felt just like Tuesday’s. Ah, not many runs left. 🙂

Friday, 20 July
AM: OFF
PM: OFF
Decided for a break today just to allow the body more rest. Legs are good, all is well.

Saturday, 21 July
AM: 31mins ~ Bedok
PM: OFF
Took a short half an hour of running to get the legs rolling for tomorrow’s race. Bedok is quite “hilly” if you know where to run. Hahaha. By hilly I meant running up 10m slopes or stairs. Raceday tomorrow, let’s go!

Sunday, 22 July
AM: 20mins w/up, 10km (RACE) ~ ECP
PM: OFF
Race day! Will reserve another post for the race report. But in short, the race was a really enjoyable one. It was pretty flat and I liked it. Really enjoyed this one! Church and St. Games afterwards. Crazy day of playing games. Haha.

. . . . .

Cut down on running this week for the race. The schedule works quite well and I felt quite fresh during the race actually.

Really thankful to God for this gift of running. It has taught me so much, and it’s also through this sport that I got to meet so many friends! Training can be tough at times, but at the end of the day, it builds you up as a person. I know that For the past week I’ve not really enjoyed my runs. Especially during the recovery runs. Still seeking the peace and joy of running without and expectations of performance. But I know God is working. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment