Weekly Summary: 04 June – 10 June 2012

Monday, 04 June
AM: OFF
PM: 33mins w/up, 500m intervals, 15mins c/down
Really enjoyed today’s training, though it was tough and my lungs were working hard! Good to know that form has improved slightly, but still got more work to do. Always aiming to be perfect, and practice makes permanent. 😉

Tuesday, 05 June
AM: OFF
PM: 52mins ~ ECP
Tough run tonight. Should have known better than to do a run when I’m already feeling bad. Just glad I held up during the run.

Got the Garmin out for a spin tonight, and I was like obsessed with the pace and distance. Haha. It’s good to get feedback on the watch, but it becomes unhealthy when you keep checking it all the time.

Wednesday, 06 June
AM: OFF
PM: 14mins w/up, 1km intervals, 16mins c/down
Really crazy final workout before raceday. Legs were burning and just hanging on to whatever is left. It’s good to push the body beyond its limits at times, but you got to prepare to hurt. When you run without looking at your watch, be ready to expect some unexpected (good and bad) timings.

Let go, and allow God to guide you. Be ready to take that one step of faith everytime, just one little step. Don’t expect God to show you the full picture, He won’t. Don’t allow knowledge (timing) to restrict you. Run freely, and God will amaze you. 🙂

Thursday, 07 June
AM: 62mins ~ Bedok to Simei
PM: OFF
As usual, morning runs are tough. 30mins is tough enough, talk about twice that duration. Couldn’t have survived if I stuck to my usual route. So decided to surprise myself by ‘exploring’ the neighborhood. Of course, I knew where I was going, but I just wanted some variations in the run.

Finally got my long-awaited massage at Aunty Rosa’s! Enjoyed it so much, but also know I can’t do this all the time because it’s costly! Ah, countdown! 3 days!

Friday, 08 June
AM: OFF
PM: 40mins ~ TP Track
Got my last run in before the race! Trying to get all the work done, though I know last minute work doesn’t work. Trying to stay relaxed and not think too much about the race, though it excites me everytime I think about it! Haha.

Saturday, 09 June
AM: OFF
PM: OFF
Off day before race! Trying to do everything in a ‘perfect’ manner so that the race will unfold smoothly tomorrow. Funny how athletes need to get the tiniest of details right, and one bad move prior to the race can easily spoil the race.

Sunday, 10 June
AM: 15mins w/up, 10km Race (Road), 10mins c/down ~ Punggol
PM: 60mins Prayer Run ~ Woodlands
Great race this morning. Happy to have gotten a PB, but I know there’s room for improvement. Legs are feeling bad right now. But I’ll leave my race report to another post. Stay tuned. 😉

. . . . .

Focus of the week was entirely on the race. I really enjoyed the race, and had much fun. But yet, the joy of attaining a PB seems so short-lived. Yes, indeed I ran faster, but when I look back at the race, there’s so much more I can improve on. And I’m already thinking about running faster for my next race. It’s like always about getting faster and faster, when will this end?

Nonetheless, I’m still very thankful that God has given me this passion to run. It’s always a desire to give Him my best, knowing that the results are in His hands. To train hard, and run this race hard, focusing only on the eternal prize that’s in Jesus alone. That’s my goal.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment